top of page

To quit or not to quit?

What’s poppin readers!

I’m so excited to give you all a little summary of what I have read this far. I got some answers to the questions I had last week.

Picture of the firefighters from the movie Fahrenheit 451

Still, this book is kind of a heavy read. I feel like it is not a book that I can just read anywhere at any time. I actually have to put of good time to put my mind into it. This is because of how the book changes subjects and settings, back and forth all the time. I have to focus and this a lot to make sure I get everything. I am almost halfway through the book and things have happened. Montag have struggled at work and at home. When he goes on missions to burn libraries and books in private households, he takes a sneak peak in some of the books that he is supposed to burn. And now his mind has become so into finding answers that he actually takes one of these books with him home. He’s trying to find answers in the book. He shows his TV obsessed wife, Mildred the book. She starts screaming and crying because she knows that this is breaking the law. Montag tries to talk with her and have real conversations to make her realize what he has realized. That something is being kept hidden in the society. But Mildred just runs off to the TV, pretending she cannot hear him.

Later, Montag tells her that he wants to quit his job. This is after a memorable night where he and his firefighter team had to burn down a whole house full of books where the lady living there, refused to leave the house. Something the lady said made Montag realize that there was a person behind every single one of these books. That there can have been a man who has put his whole life into this one book, and here Montag is, burning them without a trace.

At some times while reading, I feel so confused. The author switches a lot between the settings and between conversations and inner thoughts. This means that there’s is several pages where I just try to remember what I read and then it suddenly is all tied together and makes somewhat sense. I really like the story though. It is like a story about the controversial mind of the main character. Like he is breaking out to freedom, and I really like this kind of stuff, the idea of sticking out in society.

Now I cannot wait to find out how these tiny secret rebellious actions of Montage will turn out. Will he get caught? Still wondering if he will break free from Mildred. How will he act on his next firefighter mission? Will he go through with quitting his job, and if he does, quit, what will he do now?

I don’t know about you guys, but I cannot wait to find out.

Peace out!

-Stine

This is the house and the lady who made Montag want to quit his job


FOLLOW ME

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon
  • Black YouTube Icon

STAY UPDATED

POPULAR POSTS

TAGS

Ingen tagger enda.
bottom of page